CATFISH MCDARIS: HARDHEADS NEVER MAKE GOOD CANNIBALS (English/français)

 

Hardheads Never Make Good Cannibals 

 

 

I had an aversion to 

liver & onions, my mom 

didn't care, she prepared 

it twice a month 

 

My refusal to eat it 

became a federal case, 

I took an ass whooping 

by belt, shoe, or ruler 

 

It didn't matter as far 

as I was concerned that

organ would never 

tantalize my taste buds

 

My brothers & sisters 

watched in amusement 

as I held my nose & 

pretended to faint 

 

My dad shook his head, 

they all wondered how 

long I'd be forced to sit 

at the dining room table 

 

If my intestinal fortitude 

would crack, wane or 

waiver, our record was 

four hours, my mom 

finally throwing in the towel. 

 

 

 

 

 

Les têtes dures ne font  

jamais de bons cannibales

 

 

J’avais une aversion pour

le foie aux oignons. Ma mère

n’y prenait garde, elle en préparait

deux fois par mois.

 

Mon refus d’en manger

se mua en affaire d’État.

Je prenais des corrections à coups

de ceinture, de savate ou de règle.

 

Ca ne faisait rien. Pour

ma part, cet organe ne

tourmenterait jamais

 

mes papilles gustatives.

Mes frères et mes sœurs

regardaient en se bidonnant

la façon dont je me tenais le nez

et simulais l’évanouissement.

 

Mon père secouait la tête,

tous se demandaient combien

de temps je serais forcé de rester

assis à la table de la salle à manger

 

et si la force morale de mes

intestins allait craquer, décliner

ou céder. Notre record était

 de quatre heures, ma mère

ayant fini par jeter l’éponge.

 

Catfish McDaris won the Thelonius Monk Award in 2015. He’s recently been translated into Mandarin, French, Polish, Swedish, Arabic, Bengali, Spanish, Yoruba, Tagalog, and Esperanto. His 25 years of published material is in the Special Archives Collection at Marquette Univ. in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He’s listed in Wikipedia.

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0